Impulsive Walrus Books

Cover of Blackbox Protocol from Impulsive Walrus Books, a speculative fiction publishing firm.

Blackbox Protocol

Impulsive Walrus Book’s newest publication, Blackbox Protocol, is an intriguing story based off the RPG game Neverwhen. Fans of fantasy and RPG games will find this book a thrilling experience.

Being a PI in the high-tech, magical city of Manzala requires more than street-smarts.

Martin Aten makes do with a lifetime of experience in software engineering. Accompanied by the voice of his wife Jean and his memories of days gone by, he lives each life day-to-day, just scraping through.

But every once in a while, a job comes along that’s bigger than it looks. And when the city’s most successful techno-dwarf hires Martin to recover a stolen, prized personal possession–the job already looks massive.

From the dingy back-streets of Manzala to the planets beyond, this case is going to take Martin farther than any other case before. The hunt for a stolen item brings him new friends, new enemies, and–if he’s very, very lucky–the chance to save Manzala from a danger it doesn’t know is descending on it. Regardless, he knows he’s not returning to Manzala the same man who left it.

Purchase on Amazon, Barnes & Noble or Kobo

Cover of Well... It's Your Cow, from Impulsive Walrus books, a speculative fiction publisher.

Well… It’s Your Cow

In the throes of a convention full of geeks, Frog Jones told a story.

That story is found in this book’s foreword, but the key line from the story became the title of this anthology. The authors seized upon that line, much like an out-of-control bovine seizing its own halter, and stampeded into the volume you see before you.

This is not just a comedy anthology. Nor is it horror, or romance, or literary, or…well, any one thing. Rather, it is all those things. Each story starts exactly in the same place. But each author immediately leaps from there into their own world.

This anthology celebrates the creativity of these authors, because it does not shackle them to a theme. The starting line is the same–the finish line is on other planets, in other times, and in alternate realities.

You’re not going to feel cohesiveness reading this thing. It’s not going to be several stories hitting the same note. But you are going to experience a wider panoply of stories than you would in other anthologies.

And as to what you make of them, or what stories they may inspire in you? Well…that’s your cow.

Purchase on Amazon, Barnes & Noble or Kobo

Grace Under Fire book cover from Impulsive Walrus books, a speculative fiction publishing firm.

Grace Under Fire

Book one in this six part series, 

Grace Under Fire follows the adventure of Grace Moore. When she is sent by her Grove to deal with an attack in nearby Spokane, where the summoners have been wiped out.

Robert Lorents is a foster kid living in Spokane. A teenage band nerd with his head wrapped around romantic fantasies and his heart firmly ensconced in his saxophone case, the sudden death of his one remaining biological relative launches him down a path to learn his own fantastic–if felonious–powers.  These two are forced together by circumstance – an unwilling mentor and an uncontrolled student – to face a threat on their own that has already annihilated summoners far more powerful than they. 

To save reality as we know it, they must learn to work with one another, discover the true nature of their opponent, and, of course, avoid getting arrested for trying to save our existence.

Purchase on Amazon, Barnes & Noble or Kobo

Coup De Grace book cover from Impulsive Walrus books, a speculative fiction publishing firm.

Coup De Grace

Book two in this six part series, Coup de Grace follows Robert Lorents, now a high school graduate, and Grace Moore in more exciting adventures. 

Robert Lorents is now balancing senior projects with a demon-banishing side gig-and his mentor, Grace, can’t even stir herself to help him out. She’s off to Las Vegas and other places on “Grove Business” or some rubbish.

Grace Moore, once a mere political pawn from Seattle’s Grove of Summoners, has inherited command of Spokane’s Grove – no doubt because no one else had been stupid enough to take the understaffed, underpowered, hot-button mess left after the massacre last fall.

She finds herself swimming in political obligations without so much as a rubber floatie. And on top of that, her youngest-and most powerful-summoner isn’t too happy that she keeps having to leave to drum up more support and resources for their little group from the other Groves. She has enough to deal with without his nonsense.

Graduation is a time of beginnings. It’s also a time of owning one’s path and assuming new responsibilities, or accepting consequences of past actions. It’s just usually those responsibilities don’t involve banishing demons, fending off the police, or controlling world-wrecking power. Nobody ever promised you’d live past that beginning, though.

Purchase on Amazon, Barnes & Noble or Kobo